The seminary of St. Julian's in the central Plaza de la Merced, one of the most charming places in the historic city of Cuenca, both by its size and its location within the upper town. It was created by the architect Vicente Sevilla in 1741 by Bishop Florez Osorio, on the remains of the palace of the Marquis of Siruela. Today continue to gather here who will be the future priests of the diocese of Cuenca.
Among the artistic gems include the baroque facade, which dates from 1746; the cover, also baroque chapel of the Seminary and its magnificent Gothic altarpiece Master Horcajo. There is an important background old library in one of the rooms of the building.
On the corner of the cover of the Seminar, and also with a spectacular Baroque façade, divided into three bodies, we find the Church of the Merced, which gives its name to the square where it is located. Originally it was part of the Convent of Mercy, installed here in 1684, next to the palace of the Marquis of Cañete and the old Arab fortress. It has a single nave covered with a barrel vault with lunettes that produces a remarkable sense of spaciousness in height. Inside there is a beautiful rococo balconies, drawn by the great Martin de Aldehuela. The large number of seminarians, in the first half of the twentieth century, made this church became part of the seminar. Since 2005 is the background Modern Library Theological Seminary. Its space is ideal for concerts, conferences, etc...
The seminar has two inner courtyards, around which the rooms are arranged. Some of them overlook the courtyards mentioned; others have beautiful views of the mouth of Júcar, while others are exterior to the pedestrian street Santa Maria, separating the Seminary Science Museum of Castilla la Mancha.